#03. Quickie Review: Canon EOS M3

Hi.

The last time I picked up my DSLR was 2 years ago on my Boracay trip, and I’ve barely touched it since. It was just too heavy to carry around when I go out, and I didn’t really go out much beause of work, and there’s also the great convenience of having an iPhone with pretty good camera capabilities.

Nothing really compares to having an actual proper camera though, so I thought I’d retire my Canon 600D and pick up a new camera in a completely unnecessary way to convince myself to start exercising my creative muscles again.

I wanted to get a camera that was small and light enough that it wouldn’t be too much of a hastle to carry around when I go out, but still had the capabilities of a DSLR. After extensive research, I found my match. A Mirrorless Interchangable Lens Camera.

Canon EOS M3.jpg

The Canon EOS M3 is the brand’s third foray into the world of mirrorless cameras. Based on numerous reviews, Canon is a bit behind other brands when it comes to mirrorless cameras, but I wanted to used the camera for both photos and videos, and Canon is more well-known for its video capabilities.

Disclaimer: This quickie review is based on someone who has pretty basic technical knowledge on cameras. I know how to work it on manual mode perfectly, but I’m not too familiar with all the technical jargon, so this will be all in layman’s terms. I’ll also only talk about things that only really matter to me, because that’s the kind of person I am.

Canon EOS M3-2.jpg

So let’s start with the exterior. This camera feels tiny in my hands after being used to a DSLR. I have fairly big hands and long fingers so there’s a bit of a getting used to, but it still feels fairly comfortable handling the Canon EOS M3. Though it’s still a significant amount of weight, it’s still a lot lighter than a DSLR, which was the main thing I was concerned about. I was tempted to get the white version, but knowing myself, it would probably start getting really dirty after taking it out a couple of times.

Canon EOS M3-3.jpg

When I take photos, I’m always on Manual mode and usually on Manual Focus. The dials for the shutter speed and aperture aren’t exactly ergonomic, so it definitely takes awhile to get used to maneuvering your fingers to make changes. Of course the changes can be made on the LCD touch screen too, so it’s not really a big issue.

One of the cutest things I love about this camera is that it has a Hybrid Auto mode, which records 2-4 seconds 720p clips before each still photo, kind of like the Live Photo feature on the iPhone 6s. I think this would be super adorable when you’re shooting with people, and you get that awkward waiting-to-smile clip.

Canon EOS M3-5.jpg

Now something that a lot of people found upsetting was that it does not have a viewfinder. I was never really one to use a viewfinder, because I just don’t trust my own eyes to check a focus point, but it would still be pretty useful to have a viefinder, especially if it’s very sunny while shooting outdoors. It can get a bit hard to check the LCD screen, but I personally don’t think that the lack of the viewfinder would affect me much.

Canon EOS M3-4.jpg

What’s great about the Canon EOS M3 is that you can also get the EF-EOS M Mount Adapter, allowing you to use Canon’s EF lenses on the M3. I figured since I already had a Canon 50mm f/1.8 lens, it would be a great idea to buy the adapter so I can continue to use Canon’s lenses. It also gives me the peace of mind that I can still go back to using Canon’s DSLRs in the future without needing to get a completely different set of lenses.

My adapter will only be coming in next month, so I’ll only be using the 18-55mm kit lens for now. I’ll definitely write another review once I get my hands on it. I’m currently eyeing a few different lenses and lens adapters, so this is all very exciting!

Another amazing thing about this camera is that it has WiFi remote capabilities! Now can somebody say, YASS KWEEN. I can just download Canon’s Camera Connect app on my iPhone, and I can shoot remotely and view and save photos directly on my phone. It makes it a lot easier to post your professionaly taken selfies on Instagram, if you’re into that sort of thing.

Canon EOS M3-6.jpg

Now for the video mode, the camera has an external microphone input, which is great if you’re looking to shoot with better audio. The highest resolution is 1080p, with the highest frame rate at 30fps if set on NTSC. Videos are recorded with H.264 codec and are saved as MP4. The maximum recording time is the usual 29:59, which is the same for Canon’s prosumer cameras.

Canon EOS M3-1

So that’s my not-so-quickie review of the Canon EOS M3. If you’re looking for a prosumer camera, but not quite willing to shell out at least a thousand bucks for a DSLR, I think this is a great alternative!

TL;DR // I love it cause it’s pretty small and easy to carry around, it has the flexibility of letting me use other Canon EF lenses, and I can easily save the photos on my phone through WiFi!

I’m really looking forward to being more creative with my blog posts now that I have this camera. Now it’s just up to me to actually bring this camera out wherever I go. Good luck, me!

*Photos were taken on my old Canon 600D.

Leave a Reply

