#04. My Makeup Routine

Hi.

My Makeup Routine - Face2

Now, I know what you’re thinking. “LIZA’S TALKING ABOUT BEAUTY AND MAKEUP! IS THE WORLD ENDING?!” No, it isn’t. Stop being such a drama queen. This is not gonna be a beauty blog.

I wouldn’t classify myself as a stereotypical girly-girl, but I love reading up about new makeup trends or watching beauty videos. I just don’t really use it much because it’s an expensive hobby, and let’s get real, I’m too lazy to actually do anything substantial to my face every morning.

My Makeup Routine - Swatches

I do use a few products every so often when I’m feeling more awake. I’d say my routine is pretty minimalist though, and I don’t really stray away from my usual look.

Brow Pencil: Etude House Drawing Eyebrow Pencil in #1 Dark Brown

My Makeup Routine - Etude House Drawing Eyebrow

I bought this eyebrow pencil a few years ago, and I’ve been using it ever since! To be honest, I don’t really need to do much to my brows as they’re already quite full, but I like to just fill them in slightly and define the shape to get them fleek as fuck.

My Makeup Routine - Etude House Drawing Eyebrow1

It does have a tendency to smudge if I happen to touch my brows when my face or hands are wet, but other than that, it stays on the whole day. It also has a spoolie on the other end to blend the product out so it doesn’t look too harsh.

My Makeup Routine - Etude House Drawing Eyebrow3

Eyeliner: L’Oreal Paris Super Liner Extra Black Gloss & ColourPop Gel Liner in Call Me

My Makeup Routine - Loreal Superliner1

My Makeup Routine - ColourPop Creme Gel Eyeliner Call Me

I love love love love love the L’oreal Super Liner.  For years, I’ve only ever used liquid eyeliner because I prefer really sharp lines, and this one is my absolute favourite. The tapered felt-tip brush is great for doing both thick and thin lines, and it’s flexible yet rigid enough to easily draw on. It stays on all day and only ever smudges if it’s really painfully humid out. I mean it can even stand Singapore’s weather, and that’s saying something.

My Makeup Routine - Loreal Superliner2

I mainly have 2 ways of drawing on my eyeliner. First is just the basic bar, which is my “I don’t really want to do anything, but I feel like drawing on my face” look.

My Makeup Routine - Eyeliner Bar

Second, is a cat eye -or winged? I don’t really know the difference- for when I want my eyes to look more open. I prefer having a more angled wing rather than the usual curve, as the tip makes it look like I have thicker outer lashes, and gives the illusion of more opened eyes. I think. I don’t really know if that’s what other people think, but that’s what it looks like to me!

My Makeup Routine - Eyeliner Cateye

I recently got ColourPop’s Creme Gel Liner in Call Me, which is a dark muddy brown. I was really excited about getting this, because I’ve only read good reviews, but I’m not exactly in love with it. It’s definitely very pigmented, but it’s just not as creamy as I hoped, and it tugs on my eyelids. I only got it a few days ago, and the tip already broke off twice!

My Makeup Routine - ColourPop Creme Gel Eyeliner Call Me3

I’m definitely still gonna give this a second -more like fifteenth- chance, because I do really like the colour, and want to try something different from my usual sharp blacks. I’m still experimenting on the looks I can get with this kind of liner, but I’m really liking this less harsh-but still dark look so far.

My Makeup Routine - ColourPop Creme Gel Eyeliner Call Me1

Concealer: Revlon ColorStay Concealer in #5 Medium Deep

My Makeup Routine - Revlon ColorStay Concealer

I don’t use concealer everyday, it’s more of just a whenever I feel like it thing. I could cover up blemishes one day, and leave much worse blemishes completely uncovered the next. I’m not entirely in love with this, but it’s pretty hard to find a drugstore concealer in Asia that comes in a shade that matches my skin tone, and I am not about to throw money at Sephora.

My Makeup Routine - Revlon ColorStay Concealer2

I like that it has a really smooth consistency and that it doesn’t crease, but it only gives a light to medium coverage and it doesn’t stay on the whole day. Not too mad about it though, it kinda gets the job done.

My Makeup Routine - Revlon ColorStay Concealer3

Blush: Topshop Cream Blush in Neon Rose

My Makeup Routine - Topshop Cream Blush

I’ve had this blush since forever -as you can probably tell- and I think it’s already expired and most people would throw it out, but the smell and consistency hasn’t changed and it still works perfectly fine. Plus Topshop doesn’t sell these cream blushes anymore, so I’m just gonna keep using it.

It’s a cream-to-powder formula, which makes it really easy to blend out to get a natural look using just your fingers. It lasts all day too! I do like to go for a bolder blush on some days, and this is definitely buildable even without a brush, which is great.

My Makeup Routine - Topshop Cream Blush2

Contour & Highlight: Sleek Makeup Face Contour Kit in Medium

My Makeup Routine - Sleek Contour Kit

I bought this right before the whole Kim K Kontouring trend started, and I only really started using it more often over the past year. I don’t do any serious contour like what you see on Youtube or Instagram, I just use it to add a bit more dimension to my face when I feel like it.

My Makeup Routine - Sleek Contour Kit2

It’s a powder formula, but I don’t have the proper brushes to get the definition I want, so I just primitively use my fingers to sort of paint it on my face, then just blend it out with a powder brush! If I’m feeling particularly potato-faced that day,  I put it on under my jawline too.

My Makeup Routine - Sleek Contour Kit3

Lip Colour: Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in Wine Not & ColourPop Ultra Satin Lip in Frick N’ Frack

My Makeup Routine - Revlon Super Lustrous Matte Lipstick Wine Not3.jpgMy Makeup Routine - ColourPop Ultra Satin Lip Frick N Frack

I just recently got rid of a few of my lipsticks -and accidentally got new ones, whoops- just because they’ve gotten so old, and these are two of my remaining favourites.

My Makeup Routine - Revlon Super Lustrous Matte Lipstick Wine Not

My Makeup Routine - Revlon Super Lustrous Matte Lipstick Wine Not2

I prefer using darker colours, and I really like the Revlon Matte Lipstick in Wine Not. I usually dab it on to get a light wine-stained look, but sometimes I do a full coat for a darker “I’m part of a coven” feel.

My Makeup Routine - ColourPop Ultra Satin Lip Frick N Frack2

My Makeup Routine - ColourPop Ultra Satin Lip Frick N Frack3

Recently, I’ve been trying to go for a slightly lighter more neutral lip, and I use ColourPop Ultra Satin Lip in Frick N’ Frack. This does need a bit more precision to put on, and I really dislike the chemical crayon smell, but that does go away once it dries. I do like that it’s really pigmented and that it stays on for most of the day. It does easily transfer though, even after a few hours, so no making out with this on I guess. Sigh.

Makeup Remover/Cleanser: Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water

My Makeup Routine - Garnier Micellar Water

I usually just wash my makeup off in the shower with my face wash, but on days where I want to take it off before I shower, I use this micellar water. It cleans off all my makeup with just one soaked cotton pad, and it doesn’t dry out my skin. It doesn’t give any fresh tingly feeling, it just feels almost entirely like just plain water!

So that is my non-daily makeup routine and mini-reviews for the product I use.  I don’t use foundation, mascara, or eyeshadow, so that’s pretty much everything I put on my face.

My Makeup Routine - Face

Though this definitely won’t turn into a predominantly beauty blog, because I just simply do not have the funds for that, I will admit that I really enjoyed writing this post and putting all my makeup on and taking photos. Heehee! Maybe I’ll put up a skincare routine too if I ever get around to it!

My Makeup Routine - Face4

Now that I think of it, I’ve been getting into makeup a tiny bit more, mostly from my friends’ obsession with ColourPop, so there might actually be more of these kinds of posts in the future. Whoops.

In the meantime, everyone stay cute and fleek the fuck out of your eyebrows and make sure your winged eyeliner game is strong.

My Makeup Routine - Face3

Leave a Reply

