#05. My Tattoos [June 2016]

Hi.

My Tattoos June 2016 - Face.jpg

I was never around people who had tattoos when I was growing up, but I remember always wanting them. To be honest, I don’t really know what it is about tattoos that I like. If you asked me what made me get them done, I’d just say, “oh because I liked them”.

It’s true when people say that when you get your first one, you develop an itch to just keep wanting to get a new one. After I got my first tattoo, I wanted a half-sleeve of a combination of small tattoos, similar to Sam Pepper’s sleeve, but I think I’ve grown out of that.

As of this post, I have 5 fairly small tattoos. My family’s not too happy that I got them done, and they’re still not keen on me getting new ones, but they’ve just accepted that I have them and would never let me throw shit loads of money to get them lasered off.

My Tattoos June 2016 - This Too Shall Pass Cat.jpg

I got my first tattoo when I was 20. I initially wanted the silhouette of JiJi, the cat from Kiki’s Delivery Service, but after staring at it for hours, I realized that it’s actually really similar to the outline of a dick. Probably not a great idea for a tattoo, so I got this outline done instead with the inner script “this too shall pass”.

About the script, I got it done when I was in the midst of dying during a really long shoot during my internship. I just wanted to be completely over it, and I needed something to remind myself that I’ll survive. It’s pretty cheesy, I know, but I love my little cat and its cheesy line. It definitely needs a retouch, and I will probably be filling it in completely with black sometime in the future.

My Tattoos June 2016 - Sleep Finger2

My 2nd tattoo is the word “sleep” on the side of my middle finger. When people ask me about it, I just said, “I love sleep”. I mean, it’s my entire branding!

There’s a quote by Ernest Hemingway that I just adore and relate to completely, “I love sleep. My life has a tendency to fall apart when I’m awake, you know?”. I guess that comes off pretty negative, but I just like to think of sleep as an escape. No matter how bad your day goes, how much time you have left for it, you can always rely on going home to your bed to sleep. It’s great!

My Tattoos June 2016 - Jumping Fox

As a birthday present, my friends paid for my 3rd tattoo, which is a jumping fox. Now the meaning behind this tattoo is a bit of a stretch. I wanted to get something done to remind me to not be scared to jump, go for that leap of faith. I initially just wanted the word “jump” as another finger tattoo, but I thought that seemed kind of ridiculous.

I toyed around with the idea of a complete zoo sleeve previously, with all my tattoos just being different animals, and though I don’t really want that now, I thought maybe I could use an animal to represent the word “jump” instead. So I got a jumping fox, because it’s cute. Hahahaha, okay lah, not just because it’s cute.

You’ve probably seen those incredibly adorable videos of foxes jumping/diving into the snow. They’re able to sense their prey under inches of snow without even seeing it, then they leap in the air, dive into the snow and catch it straight on. I wanted to remind myself to just go for something I want, something I don’t necessarily see, but something I know is there and I can catch if I just took the leap.

My Tattoos June 2016 - Candy Heart Good Night

My 4th tattoo is actually my 1st impulse tattoo. This adorable apprentice tattoo artist –shoutout to Olivia one time!- posted up flash tattoos on her Instagram, and I thought her candy hearts were just way too cute and I needed one. The “good night” bit just ties in to how much I love sleep.

My Tattoos June 2016 - X Shoulder

My most recent tattoo, I’d say, is my most questionable one. Whenever someone asks me what it means, I follow up with, “do you know what’s Straight Edge?” and a summarised explanation of the punk subculture. Basically, those who follow the Straight Edge lifestyle don’t smoke, don’t drink, and don’t do drugs. Some may even extend it to veganism, or not participating in casual sex. So I like to joke that I’m an accidental Straight Edge, and I got the typical Straight Edge “X” tattoo done.

Recently, I was medically advised to stop drinking alcohol and to stop smoking because of certain health issues.  Now, I work in TV & media, where my crew constantly smokes on shoot and is almost always drinking at the end of the day. I have no problem with quitting those things, but I kind of needed the reminder. A few friends have mentioned that it reminds them of the band, The XX, but personally, it just reminds me of the X Men.

So those are all my tattoos. I’m definitely itching for more, but I’m currently saving up for the bigger piece that I want to get on my forearm. I’ll definitely let you know when I actually get that piece done.

In the meantime, I’ll try to keep away from tattoo shops, though honestly, I might squeeze in another tiny tattoo in the next couple of months if things get too itchy. Whoops!

My Tattoos June 2016 - Sleep Finger.jpg

Leave a Reply

