#06. Creative Awakening

Hi.

Creative Awakening - Face.jpg

If you’ve seen my previous posts, or have been following me on any social media platform because I’ve basically been screaming this from the top of my lungs, I’ve gotten a new camera! And it’s been really super exciting!

I’ve pretty much been trying to find any excuse to go out with my new baby and just shoot something, or attempt to come up with a new project. This blog has been my new project essentially. I don’t think I’ve ever put this much effort into a blog, like ever!

Now I’m not doing this in the hopes of turning into one of those “I can officially say I’m a professional blogger” type of thing. I mean don’t get me wrong, if it ever actually happens, then that’ll be fucking fantastic, but I just want this space to be some sort of creative output, be it with writing, photography, or editing.

I remember when I was still in school, I had so many ideas and projects I wanted to work on once I got out of school, but since I started working full-time, it’s been really difficult to find the time and energy to do any of that. That, or I was just being incredibly lazy. You get the picture.

With blogging, I don’t have to commit as much time as I would with any other project. It’s something I can easily squeeze into free time throughout the day, even when I’m not on my laptop. The only thing that’s a bit more tedious would be taking photos, because that would usually require natural light, and I don’t really get to shoot with that unless it’s on weekends.

Creative Awakening - Workspace

Editing and drawing on photos is something new that I’m experimenting with. I’ve professionally done digital retouching before, and I’m fairly familiar with editing photos, but I think I’ve grown out of my previous style and would love to figure out different ways to edit. I’m trying out different ways to handwrite on photos too, plus working on colour schemes and all that.

I wrote, shot, edited, painted on, and compiled My Makeup Routine post over a weekend, and let me tell you, it takes a lot more effort than it looks! Now I’m not complaining, I loved working on it, but it definitely not an easy job if you’re doing it professionally. It took me more than an hour just to get all those shots of the products!

I really enjoyed it though. My handwriting looks shoddy, and the composition for the photos aren’t exactly aesthetically-pleasing or even consistent, but it’s something I’m working on, and I’m still very proud of my first attempt!

I’m so excited to produce more content! Whatever the fuck that means.

Creative Awakening - Face2

Leave a Reply

