#16. A Misogynist Once Told Liza to Chill. What Happens Next Will (Not) Surprise You.

Hi.

Photo on 22-3-17 at 3.49 PM-2

I recently saw this article posted by a friend on Facebook with a title there that I find pretty ridiculous. And then, I saw the friend’s caption on the article, and I think that’s way more ridiculous.

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 3.59.12 PM

If you want to read the actual article, you can read it here.

Now, someone please tell me that I am not the only one infuriated by this.

Now I’m not a fan of Wonder Woman. I’m not even a fan of DC. Heck, I don’t even fully agree with what people are saying in this article! But this comment, just- WOW.

I have no words. Nothing that I haven’t already said at least. You can read the rest of my thoughts below.

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 3.59.12 PM copyScreen Shot 2017-03-22 at 3.59.23 PMScreen Shot 2017-03-22 at 3.59.27 PM

TL;DR: I’m not saying that people were right to complain about a clean-shaven interpretation of a fictional character. I’m saying that-

  1. Unless they’re someone of actual legitimate authority, people have no right to tell people what to do with their bodies.
  2. People have no right to shame people about their bodies or imply that there’s a standard that they should be.
  3. Unless someone is unhealthy or filthy or legitimately unwell, commenting on something about someone that could greatly affect their self-esteem is just horrible.

That’s it. That’s all. How hard is that to understand?

Leave a Reply

